For my brother ::edit::

To the outside world we all grow old. But not to brothers and sisters. We know each other as we always were. We know each other’s hearts. We share private family jokes. We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys. We live outside the touch of time. ~Clara Ortega

For my brother; the one constant I can single handily pick out of every one of my childhood memories. The stubborn rock that never seemed to get out of my way fast enough when I went crying to my room because he ripped my Barbie’s head off and held it over the stove, yet again.

For my brother, the only person I knew that would hold me down and hock loogies on me, but also be by my side instantly when the neighborhood boys wouldn’t let me play basketball with them.

For my brother, who always kept me safe; who always held his tiny hands over my even tiner ears when I didn’t want to hear any arguments; when I needed to pretend everything was all right.

For my brother, who never let me forget that he was my big brother, even when I brought home my first real boyfriend.

For my brother, one of the very best fathers I know. Being able to watch him raise such a beautiful boy and free spirited little girl makes me so incredibly proud; knowing he will teach them the importance of family, understanding and unwavering love.

For my brother, an incredible man with such a fierce passion for living that it infects everyone around him.. contagiously making those around him better people simply for knowing him.

For my brother, on his birthday. I am so proud and grateful to be your sister. You have all of my love brother bear.
   
 

Leave a Reply

