Selfie madness (JUST DO IT)

SELFIE:

A picture taken of yourself that is planned to be uploaded to Facebook, Myspace or any other sort of social networking website. You can usually see the person’s arm holding out the camera in which case you can clearly tell that this person does not have any friends to take pictures of them so they resort to Myspace to find internet friends and post pictures of themselves, taken by themselves. A selfie is usually accompanied by a kissy face or the individual looking in a direction that is not towards the camera.

(As defined by urbandictionary.com)

I once heard someone quote something really stupid along the lines, “If a girls Instagram has more selfies than anything else, pick another girl”…. Or some bullshit like that. Perhaps if we’re being honest, we’ve all probably selfie-shamed someone we know. But if we’re being even more honest with ourselves, generally speaking when we selfie-shame its out of bitterness and jealousy of said selfie queen.

But it’s doesn’t have to be that way. 

I’ve always loved taking pictures. I remember snapping away for my myspace profile years and years ago before the term selfie actually existed. In any relationship I’ve had, I’ve somehow captured many moments of each in beautifully placed sepia tone smiles. It’s a blessing and a curse. Even now as a 29 year old woman, I can confidently say I like taking pictures of myself. I love selfies. Period. The end.

But that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. I think selfies have become a negative term when really it’s a powerful tool. The popularity of taking selfies seem to coincide during a huge feminist shift in much of our country’s view. Girl power is real and it’s continuing to rise. In fact, according to the Ideal to Real TODAY/AOL Body Image survey, teenage girls revealed something unexpected: 65 percent said seeing their selfies on social media actually boosts their confidence. And 40 percent of all teens say social media helps “me present my best face to the world.”  I believe this reigns true even with adult women.

Taking a selfie shouldn’t be shamed. It allows YOU to be both the photographer AND the subject, and what’s more empowering than calling the shots? Being in control of your body and your body image is a beautiful thing and more women should embrace themselves in positive ways. 

So take that selfie girl (of guy, I don’t descriminate), you’re gorgeous!

If you don’t believe me, here’s a few of my favorite babes and their favorite selfies. Now tell me that isn’t empowering!








Leave a Reply

